Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Ideas for a restoration
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
skeates
Well...For a while now I have been contemlating selling my Jeep and using some that money to do a restoration on the 914 sitting in my parents driveway (read: I am a college student who really wants to get his 914 back!). Unfortunately for my Jeep last Saturday at about 1:00am my Jeep was brutally murdered by a punk Toyota Seqoia when the driver fell asleep at the wheel. The Jeep took it like a champ! However, it is now totalled and I have to deal with 21st Century Insurance (who have been horrible to deal with so far) to get my money for it...

(The light at the end of the tunnel) - Now I have some cash to budget a small scale restoration on the teener to make it my daily driver, however I would only have about 4-weeks or so to do this in. I have been doing some research and I wanted to pass a tentative itinerary by you guys to see what you though about my plan:

Week 1: Nakify the car by completely strip car down to rolling tub
Week 2: Sand Blast and paint the car red-neck style (in garage)
Week 3: Repalce cam w/ Web Cam and Replace L-Jet w/ Webbers then reinstall engine.
Week 4: New Carpet for interior and Trunks, New Seals all around (Drive)

Is this way too ambitious, or are you guys as crazy as I am and think this can be done?

Peace,

Steven

BTW: I have pics of the Jeep if you want to see them!
tat2dphreak
you misspelled 'month' you said 'week'

tdgray
QUOTE (tat2dphreak @ Feb 17 2006, 04:58 PM)
you misspelled 'month' you said 'week'

Uh yea what he said huh.gif

In my case though week = 1/3 of a year
skeates
Did I mention that I would have all day everyday for all 4-weeks to do this?

That and I have about two months to order supplies so that everything was ready for me when I got there.
Chris Pincetich