Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 914 Value Appreciation Percentage
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
vesnyder
I have been a hobbyist sports car collector for about the past 20 years since I bought my first '67 911 in 1984 and was wondering if any of the board members have done an assessment of the what the future holds for the 914? What, if any, has the historical (past 5 years) appreciation been - has it even kept up with inflation? At some point they have to begin increasing - don't they?
Part Pricer

The problem is that there is no way of recording all of the sales and all of the information. You can look at ebay for all of the completed auctions and get a number, but you don't really know the condition of the cars and if the sale was actually completed when the buyer showed up and saw what he really bought.

Excellence does periodic market reports on values. But, I question those numbers as well. I tracked the variances for a while and gave up when I noticed that the price changes seemed to be more attributable to spreadsheet manipulation then actual sales.

TROJANMAN
IMO dry.gif
The demand for these cars has really picked up in the last 6 months. Likewise, Prices have increased as well. I just purchased a car, that 7 months ago, took 2 months to sell. I bought it the same day it was listed for sale (he had 6-10 offers to buy it, Sight unseen) It was even in slightly worse condition than when it originally sold (priced accordingly for wear). Clean, running cars are selling fast and for decent prices.
IMO dry.gif

but %'s? I have no idea. But i bet it's a pretty high number from the last 6 months to a year.

All of the cheap bastards on this board will disagree with me biggrin.gif , but i think there is some truth to my observations.

(pics in blog) BTW, my 75 Copper metallic with SSI and fresh euor spec motor is now for sale at $17,000 lol2.gif
ninefourteener