Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: need electrical guru
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
firstknight13
ok car runs great!!! then i notice tach not working so i pull over and replace blown fuse. turn on key pop fuse blows . i repeat and same thing happens.... i have all lights , NO turn siganals; NO dash lights; NO NO NO......
with key off and turn signal on left or right side the lights for signaling will go on NOT flash??? if you can help would be appreciated!! biggrin.gif I'm not an electrician so tell it to me in simple lingo please smile.gif
lapuwali
Somewhere, you have a short. Either a wire is disconnected and dangling against the body, or the insulation is split and rubbing on the body, or something is plugged in where it shouldn't be. You need to find all of the circuits attached to that fuse (wiring diagrams help here), and trace each one, looking for the problem.
firstknight13
i looked at the wiring diagrams and too many too choose from thought someone might know maybe a relay is stuck??? i hav'nt a clue rolleyes.gif
john rogers
Could be goop in the steering column area of the turn signal switch. I had that happen about 5 years ago and pulled the steering wheel and cleaned with electrical cleaner. First, I would check the connectors at the turn signal lights both front and rear to make sure there are no shorts.
Spoke
A couple of questions:

Which fuse blows?

What year is your car?

Does the fuse blow when the key is turned on with the lights on or off?

Did you recently do any work in or around any wires or on the dashboard?

Do you have a multimeter?

BTW, I think it is normal for the signal lights to be on continuously if the turn signal is left in the turning position. I've noticed this on my car too.

If you can see your turn signals on with the key off, then the turn signal wires would seem to be ok.

Spoke
SirAndy
QUOTE (Spoke @ Apr 5 2006, 05:37 PM)
Does the fuse blow when the key is turned on with the lights on or off?