Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 1.8 L not running well Help
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Heeltoe914
I have a 75 1.8L it runs good for the first 10 min lots of pull and power. after about 10min it starts to buck on off rpms dont change, But it hits a big dead spot. and if you keep going it just gets worst. If you puch the motor over 3500 rpms it gets a little more normal.
Now get this let it sit for a cooldown lets say 30min, you start it up and go for about 10-15min, and than its back, Bucking very consistent. It feels like its running out of gas but its not, and this is the same problem 5 times in a roll now.
I did a vavle adj, checked points and wires and plugs. but still no differance. changed out coil. checked with carb cleaner for vac lecks. and checeked vac at vacum advance on both sides of Dist, Now I am a little lost, I now 1.7 and 2.0 but this is my first time owning two 1.8L.
Will take any tips that come my way. Thanks
drewvw

Does it buck if you are holding the throttle steady? If you floor it does it accelerate and the buckling goes away?

Maybe your TPS is scored or trigger contacts are worn. Try unplugging the electrical connection to the TPS when its warmed up and see what happens, easy test. The acceleration will lag but see if the bucking stops.

but that's just a guess.....good luck
dstar
Isn't that the classic symptoms of the head temp sensor gone bad?
Or was it the Thermo-time sensor?
confused24.gif

One of the two........
:-)

Don
double-a
i have experienced various similar issues with my 1.8. in one case, my spark plug wires were toast, and replacing them fixed the problem. more recently, there's been a 'hiccup' when the rpm gets up in the 3800-4500 range. i replaced the plugs with new bosch platinums and the problem was solved!

ymmv of course, but i'd check those two items. also check your vacuum lines.

~a
Qarl