Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Clutch problem help!
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
ehick72
I replaced the clutch recently and I have been driving it for a few months. I got it back from the shop. They were looking at the speedo cable. Anyway on the way home it just stopped letting me shift. I checked the clutch cable and it seems to be working. What else could it be.

Eric
john rogers
Are there TWO nuts on the end at the clutch release arm? If only one it can slowly back off and the clutch will not disengage.
Allan
QUOTE(john rogers @ Apr 15 2006, 03:14 PM) *

Are there TWO nuts on the end at the clutch release arm? If only one it can slowly back off and the clutch will not disengage.

That and you may have the clutch tube coming loose.

I hope it's the first...
SirAndy
or the setscrew on the shift coupler came lose ...

wink.gif Andy
Joe Bob
Check the nuts on the end, adjust and check for pedal play. If you still have an issue, most likely a loose tube in the center. They like to pop at the welds.
ehick72
Ok I have no idea what you are talking about when you say "TWO nuts on the end at the clutch release arm? ". I don't see any nuts at the end of what I think the arm is. Are you talking about the Clutch Release Lever? I am guessing not. now there is a nut at the end of the cable that connects to the Clutch Release Lever. Anyway I have been under there tightening loosening wiggling and crying over everything under that car.

Also how can I tell of the clutch tube is loose. Is this the tube the cable goes through?

Eric
wbergtho