Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: OT: Need someone VERY familiar with Microsoft Access and Visual Basic
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Qarl
I have a little application my company sells. The applications is a Microsoft Access application.

I want to "improve" one of the features of it. I need help developing a VB macro for use in my application.

Let me describe what I want to do...

1. I have a master list of codes

Fields: Code Description

2. I have another list of data, let's call it the combination table

Code1 Code2 Explanation Indicator

Code1 and Code2 are various combinations of data from the master code list.

3. I want the user to be able to enter up to six codes as input criteria

Input1
Input2
Input3
Input4
Input5
Input6

Each of the six inputs is limited to the codes that appear in the master code list. Basically, the user is selecting the inputs from a Combo Boxe in the Access form.

4. I want the user to be able to enter up to six input codes, and then have the program search the combination table for the following circumstances. Sometimes the users may only input two or three or four input codes.

I want the program to Ouput on the Form in Access a character, say... the letter "X", next to any of the six inputs if the following criteria are met.

The macro will search the Combinations table for any two of the selected inputs. Any time both input codes appear on the same line in the Combinations table, it will output a "X" next to the input code that appears in the second column (Code2) of the Combinations table. If only one of the two codes appear in the Combination table, or neither code pair appears, then it does nothing.

Essentialy, the macro has to search for the following combinations...

Input1 & Input2
Input1 & Input3
Input1 & Input4
Input1 & Input5
Input1 & Input6

Input2 & Input1
Input2 & Input3
Input2 & Input4
Input2 & Input5
Input2 & Input6

Input3 & Input1
Input3 & Input2
Input3 & Input4
Input3 & Input5