Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: the mystery holes
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
sk8kat1
there are 6 holes under there with plastic plugs in them .... there are nuts attached inside the roll bar -- what are they for? confused24.gif
Eddie Williams
ski rack
thewheel69
I'm by no means an expert here but I believe they were for some kind of luggage/rack mount... there actually is a bike rack that mounts to these. I know, I have one!

Hope this helps... I'm sure others more knowledgeable will pipe in...
914-8
yes, they are bolt holes for racks.

also, look on the windshield header - under the rubber, you can see two plastic rectangular plugs (one on d side, one on pass side). Those are removable, leaving holes to mount the front part of the rack!
So.Cal.914
The ski race was a very clean install. One small piece mounted under roll bar and the other mounted to the rear bumper thru the tow eye hole. I had one too.
smoke.gif
sk8kat1
cool.. well my plan is to fabricate and attach a mouting plate using those holes .. so I can install a 3rd break light w/o drilling into the roll bar itself... at least that's the plan smile.gif
iamchappy
I had a ski rack and used it too, I had it sitting in the basement workshop for years why I tossed it I dont know.
Eric_Shea
Ski rack would be cool...
brer
like zees.
Joe Bob
Mount the third tail light on the engine grill.....
SirAndy
funny how the same stuff comes up every other month or so ...

while it is true that the *aftermarket* ski rack uses those holes to mount brackets, that is not their original purpose.

the holes are part of the factory "Hohlraumversiegelung" system and are used to inject insulation foam into the hollow parts of the 914 frame.

see this old thread, or, just do a search on "Hohlraumversiegelung"

http://www.914world.com/bbs2/index.php?show...1&st=&p=&#entry

beerchug.gif Andy
gregrobbins
QUOTE(SirAndy @ Apr 19 2006, 09:52 PM) *