Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Nitrogen
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
BarberDave
In the past two weeks the local tire stores have been advertising replacing Air in your tires with Nitrogen. Claiming all sorts of benefits, cooler running, better mileage ,
tires last longed. Has anyone done this and what has your experence been? Charges run $2.99 to $4.00 per tire,914 and 3 other cars. Is this a sheeplove.gif job? Thanks Dave
736conver
Isnt the air we breath like 80% nitrogen to begin with. Pure nitrogen is moisture free. That has to be a benefit for tires, right?
TimT
Isnt the air we breath like 80% nitrogen to begin with.

werd

though we do sometimes use pure nitrogen in our tire.. depending if the generator is off etc
brp914
well, I'm a chemist, fwiw. Nothing wondrous about nitrogen - its just a cheap gas. The important thing is that it wont have water in it which would lead to unpredictable pressure changes as it liquifies/evaporates with temp changes. But I suspect these changes would only be relevant on a race car, if at all. Also, water can cause havoc with aluminum wheels. A couple times I've had to have tires dismounted due to slow leaks caused by corrosion on the sealing surface.
jsteele22
I'd say if it ain't broke, don't fix it. Plain old air works pretty well in tires. And, as mentioned, that's 80% nitrogen already. And I think that the air coming from most compressors is gonna be drier than normal; the water comes out when you compress it, and I think (help anybody ?) theres a valve of some sort that lets the water out so as not to sit inside the compressed air tank and cause rust. As for mass, oxygen is so close to nitrogen that that couldn't matter. In some cases, getting rid of the oxygen might help prevent chemical reactions (oxidation) that cause materials to age, but that's happening on the outside of the tire regardless, and I don't think that affects lifetime.

Short answer : don't waste your $$$.
yeahmag