Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Fuel Line Article
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Midtowner
My '73 2.0L has been sitting around for a loooong time with the original plastic fuel lines pitted just below the battery. Reading about it in Excellence scared me a bit. Guess I gotta replace them soon. Question is: rubber or stainless steel? huh.gif
Midtowner
Oh, and that's the tip of my phillips screw driver pointing at the deepest pitted line. blink.gif
Hoss
QUOTE(Midtowner @ Apr 24 2006, 08:04 PM) *

Oh, and that's the tip of my phillips screw driver pointing at the deepest pitted line. blink.gif

I am new to the teener world, but I can tell you that I ordered a set of SS fuel lines from racerchris before I even bought the car. I am very leery of plastic fuel lines, especially when they run down the tunnel and are thirty years old.

My decision process to go with the stainless steel route was mostly driven by the desire to keep the car for the long run. Probably nothing wrong with rubber, but when you can get a SS set that is bent to fit, it was an easy choice for me.

Good luck with the replacement.
Hammy
I also got SS lines from Chris. Very nice.

I'd imagine it'd be a real biotch to put rubber fuel lines back in the center tunnel.
Lou W
I got my Excellance Magazine too and read the article also, 30 year old car, etc. makes sense to me to replace the fuel lines. I've bought the Stainless Steel Lines from Chris, I think it's cheap insurance. thumb3d.gif
VaccaRabite
I may as well also say that I got lines from Chris last month. I have yet to drive my car. When I bought my 914, I descided that I would not even start it till I had replaced all the fuel lines.

Zach
nomore9one4
I have this same job to do before I get to drive mine again. headbang.gif It is better to be safe than sorry. driving.gif
Midtowner
Well, your responses are pretty unanimous: Stainless Steel from Racerchris! biggrin.gif
olav
I haven't got my Excellence yet!

dry.gif