Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Type of oil matter?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
terrymason
A search of the forum didn't really yield anything useful, so I'll ask:

What type of oil and how much should I use when doing my first oil change?

the auto store sold me some max life (valvaline i believe) oil (bought 2 gallons) and a maxlife filter. Does this sound good? I'm not exactly sure how much oil to put in (I heard 9.5 quarts somewhere), so I was thinking about using 2 gallons, then topping off the rest.

oh yeah, it's a 71 1.7

Any advantage to using synethic, or a blend?

Thanks guys, I'm totally new to 914s (and air cooled in general) so any tips are welcome.

Terry
jhadler
I think the guy at the parts store was not able to make the distinction between a 914 and a 911... A 1.7L 914 will typically use around 4 quarts of oil with a filter change. The 9.5 quart number is for 911 motors, which use a dry sump system, and as such, use a LOT more oil.

Weight of oil? That all depends, but a lot of folks have been happy with 20/50W. Synthetics are nice, but if your engine leaks oil, it'll leak even more with synthetic.

10/40 is good in winter, 20/50 is good in summer. Other folks may have other experience. And if someone like McMark or Raby chimes in here, I'd take their suggestions...

-Josh2
mike_the_man
I'd also try and find a better oil filter. Bosch or Mann are my prefered filters, I'm sure others will give better suggestions.
Allan
Something like 3.7 qts. of good dino 20-50w is fine. I use Castrol.

Dump the filter and get a Mahle...
So.Cal.914

I have used synthetic for awhile now, 20/50 and I have been happy with it.
smoke.gif
mike_the_man
Oh ya, I use Amsoil synthetic oil, for what its worth.
davep