Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Carbs or FI with big displacement?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
krazykonrad
I'm running a 2.3 with (I ASSume) a stock cam. All the original D-jet stuff (for a 1.7) is in place and running well, but a little rough. With the increased displcement should I be running carbs instead of a 1.7 FI?
Many thanks!
Konrad 72/4
beerchug.gif
elwood-914
I'm no expert here but I don't think the stock FI will handle that......I think the stock D-jet will only go up to the 2056cc engine Jake puts out....
but that is with the 2.0 D-jet setup
Trekkor
popcorn[1].gif
mightyohm
You can adjust the MPS to accomodate the extra displacement. It's a slightly involved procedure and you need some special test equipment to do it right.

Or you can ditch d-jet and switch to Megasquirt, but in the end that will be a lot more work (although the car might run better).
Mueller
QUOTE(elwood-914 @ May 8 2006, 07:29 PM) *

I'm no expert here but I don't think the stock FI will handle that......I think the stock D-jet will only go up to the 2056cc engine Jake puts out....
but that is with the 2.0 D-jet setup

bs.gif

many people have kept the D-Jet and run bigger motors...he already stated the engine runs, it's "rough"...well, that roughness could be attributed to other things besides the displacment increase.

Have you gone thru the normal procedures for tuning and troubleshooting the engine? Ignition in top notch, valve adjust, no vac. leaks, properly operating distributor???

The basics needs to be nailed down first.

A WB02 such as one from Innovate would help and let you know if you are running lean and if so, by how much...
So.Cal.914