Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Distributor driveshaft
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
trojanhorsepower
I am new to 914s and BBS, so please be patient. I am trying to assemble a '74 2.0 that I bought (like any fool-hearty lad) in boxes (car and motor). The books speak of a single shim between the Dist. driveshaft and the case. I don't seem to have this part and have not seen anything about this on the BBS. Any info on where to get the part or how to figure which shim I need with the halves headbang.gif together (already done when I got the car) will be much appreciated. Sorry if this info is already posted. If it is please just direct me to the postings and I will shut up and read (some more).

-Peter
porsche735
There is no shim. There is the clamp that goes around the shaft and gets bolted to the case. If you have that (it is probably attached to your distributor already) you are fine...

Chris
Bleyseng
There is a shim like washer that goes in before the dizzy drive is inserted. This shim or washer acts as a bearing surface for the dizzy drive shaft. This drive shaft is weird looking with the odd slot cut into the face. The dizzy is then slid into the case and the dizzy drive gear fits into the slot.

The shim or washer is small and you should be able to see one in the manual.

Geoff
RustyWa
The shim goes in just before the distributer? Hmm, I don't remember seeing one. I'll have to go take a look since my distributer is still out.

What problems can this cause if there is not one?
Bleyseng
It is at the base of the dizzy drive not the dizzy. It is a spacer so the dizzy drive doesnt ride against the soft case. It is not betweenthe two.

Geoff
porsche735
Here is a picture of the distributor. Maybe you can point to it. Are you saying the shim is in the engine or on the distributor?

Chris
porsche735