Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: queenie's two-liter
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
onespeedboy
good morning mid-engine maniacs.
In a fit of (in)sanity, I've agreed to rebuild the Queenie's '76 2.0 liter.
I pulled the engine/trans yesterday and have gained newfound respect for you mid-engine guys. I've been playing with 356, 911 and 912's Porsches for many years and hanging the ticker out the rear does make for convenient engine removal (in fairness, her car DOES handle a bunch better than my early 912).

Anyhow....
The impetus for the overhaul was the smokey operation (especially when cold), the many oil leaks and a VERY difficult smog check, not to mention the "less than smooth" operation at lower revs.
Indications were that valve guides and rings are culprit. Agree/disagree?

Now with the engine out and the periphery stripped, I'm not so sure.
Here's what I've encountered:

number one injector has been replaced with a similar but not quite right injector. The injector hold-down was not even making contact with the injector (and it's grommet) and thus allowing it to wiggle out of place.

all vacuum hoses (and there are many) in a sad state.

many dodgy electrical connections including the individual injector ground wires, oil temp sender wire, and others.

cracked plastic intake runner to head insulator (does this connection use no paper gasket?).

And of greatest concern, loads of sludgy oil residue INSIDE most of the intake system (including the bottom of the air cleaner box, the throttle butterfly and the "box" just below it upstream from the intake runners).

On the plus side, the heads look quite fresh. Fairly clean externally and when looking down the ports. I don't believe there is an accurate way to check for valve guide wear without dismantling, is there?
This agrees with reciepts she recieved when she bought the car a year or two ago. The previous owner had a reciept for engine rebuild including rebuilt heads and p/c's.