Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: alternator woes
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
nycchef
alternator is not charging battery. changed relay board today. here's the rub. ran the car for an hour or so . got home and battery was dead. jumped it from my other car . started right up. removed pos battery connection and it stalled. thought alternator was no good but it runs the car but will not charge.
davep
Did you remove the battery from the circuit? That is a real no-no. The battery must always be hooked up when the alternator is running.
ClayPerrine
In addition, you may have a bad voltage regulator.

Charge the battery.

Start the car.

Put a volt meter on the battery.

Pull the regulator.

Jump the field lead to the D+ lead.

If your alternator is good, you should see 16 to 18 volts on the meter.

If it does show that, replace the regulator.
nycchef
[

i am new at this. please explain above also i thought that if the regulator was bad it would overcharge the battery thanks
drewvw

I see what he's saying. Jump the positive lead so you bypass the regulator and measure what your getting at the battery without it.

ClayPerrine
QUOTE(nycchef @ Jun 5 2006, 09:18 PM) *

[

i am new at this. please explain above also i thought that if the regulator was bad it would overcharge the battery thanks

The regulator can fail to where there is no voltage applied to the field.

Ok.. back up... Alternator function 101.

In the early days of cars , there were generators. Generators have big permanent magnets that surround an armature. The armature spins, and the armature passes through the magnetic field to make DC electricity. They will function even if the battery is not present.

The alternator is more efficent. It uses a fixed set of windings in place of the permanent magnets, but it makes AC current. There are diodes to turn it back to DC current for the battery.