Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 914 Run from LA to Wichita Falls
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
MBowman325
Since parts of this are strung out over a couple of threads, I figured I make a single one to relate it all in. (All times are in CST BTW)

Overall it was really a good trip with a couple of hiccups. smile.gif I flew out to LA Thursday morning and got there around 1610, and was riding back with Leamon around 1640ish. By the way, he's a great guy to deal with for all who're interested. We, or him rather since I'm still somewhat new to the 914s, checked valve lash, fixed a few small odds and ends, and made an initial test run around with the car. There's a few small touches of rust, but none of it looks anywhere major. (pass floor pan, and spotted a little on the door where the paint was chipped. The longs and HH look great, and I think I'm gonna replace the rocker panels, or at least pull them and fix some minor cosmetic damage.

Anyhow, everything looked good, and I started on my way back around 11ish (CST again) that night. Speedometer was inop, so I just sorta followed traffic and rode at what felt about natural, so 3300-3600 RPM in 5th. Seems like that's somewhere between 73-80 or something. I made it to Blythe around 0430 and crashed for the night. I seem to recall some stuff that looks like it would have been neat to see, but it was a neat drive by a nearly full moon.

Work called at 0930 Friday morning to tell me that stuff was broke, and if I had any idea of how to fix it. They got it squared away a few hours later as I understand it... Had to borrow a hammer (forgot to buy one at the LA Walmart the night before) to get the car started, but once I tapped it a few times in the magic spots, it fired right up and hummed away. No real clue when I left... Prob 11ish.