Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Just bought my first 914
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Jeff73
I just bought my first 914 yesterday, and I am new to owning a Porsche. It is a 73, has 112,000 on it and hasn't run in about a year and a half. The body is pretty clean with the exception of some front end damage. Problem is I am locked out of the car at the moment (already have a post for that topic). I was told by a friend that switching to a carb set up would be very beneficial for me. Is that true, or should I stick with the Fuel Injection? Also, any good links / websites would be much appreciated.
Hammy
99% of the members here will say keep the FI setup smile.gif
Sinner914
QUOTE(Jeff73 @ Jun 13 2006, 09:53 PM) *

I just bought my first 914 yesterday, and I am new to owning a Porsche. It is a 73, has 112,000 on it and hasn't run in about a year and a half. The body is pretty clean with the exception of some front end damage. Problem is I am locked out of the car at the moment (already have a post for that topic). I was told by a friend that switching to a carb set up would be very beneficial for me. Is that true, or should I stick with the Fuel Injection? Also, any good links / websites would be much appreciated.

Hammy is right, a lot of the guys will tell you to keep the FI set-up but that is up to you. Some guys like the tuning of the carbs and the sucking noise it makes. I say, if the FI works don't replace it unless you need to. FI can nickel and dime you in the end if it isn't up to par but carbs need to be tuned and cared for. Do what you like but I say FI.

G
BigDBass
Hi Jeff,
welcome.png

I'm new to 914s myself. I got mine on April 30. This site is the pretty much the place to go for whatever 914 information you need. And the community is like nothing else on the planet. There's something for everyone here.