Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: OT: Posting pic's help
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Mark Henry
I have a flat bed scanner and adobe photoshop (I also have lview).

My first jpg attempt was OK, but the quality was a bit low. I'm still on learning curve. I have just basic computer skills, you know I'm just above 'puter idiot.

Any tips? shortcuts?

How large (K) of a pic can you post?

Thanks for any help, Mark. wavey.gif
double-a
i didn't expect that my first post would be related to photoshop, but since i'm a graphic/web designer for over 10 years now, i ought to respond i guess. and i've been using photoshop for nigh onto a decade.

remember that jpeg compression is 'lossy' which means it pulls out information in order to compress the image size. if you scan and save as a .tif or .eps, you'll preserve all the information. if size is an issue, jpeg is a great compression format, you just have to be careful. when you're saving as a jpeg in photoshop, bump the jpeg settings up as high as they'll go.

sometimes if i need a really large image (to post on a bbs for instance), i'll pull the jpeg settings down to level 5 or 6. this enables you to get away with large pixels, and smaller file sizes.

but always save the original in an uncompressed format!

just my two cents.
Rockaria
Hello Mark,

First off, What scanner do you own? and what version of Photoshop?

If you have Yahoo Chat, I can quickly walk you through it.

Good sized Internet pic should be around 72dpi 450X350pixels. Photoshop is the software to use, even if its the LE version. Use JPEG for all internet graphics as the quality can get no better on the internet with anything else and the file will be less than 100K and usually around 30-50K.

Let me know,
Charles Deutsch