Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Bruce Anderson's
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
goobu
I was hoping to get some input on these classes. A buddy and I are considering flying out and taking these two classes:

911 Engine Overhaul Classes - $600
911 Tune-up Classes - $150

http://www.911handbook.com/classes_engine.html

Has anyone taken these classes? Is it worth the time and money? I am considering dropping a 2.7 or 3.2 into my 914 either this winter or next and I would like to be able to do a lot of the work myself, but I have little to no experience with a project of this magnitude.

Any insight would be great.

Thanks!!
Red-Beard
You might consider contacting Wayne at Pelican parts. He took the engine rebuild course.

James
krk
I've done the tuneup and transmissions classes.

The Woods shop is about 5 mins from my house, so there are no travel issues for me.

It was over a year a go, so I'll have to dig up my posts to rennlist.

The technical parts of the classes (which is 90% of it) are taught by Woods. I though he was amazing. You don't often meet someone with that much depth on all areas of the car, or has been involved in so many racing teams. He's best known for Pcar stuff Is suppose, but he was on a Ferrari team the year I took the tranny class.

Off the top of my head -- the tuneup class is aimed at 911 owners with some amount of techinical know how. I'm guessing that for a lot of the folks on this board, about half would be new information. (wild guess of course) iirc, it's usually on the saturday following the engine class, so I'd probably stay for it if I flew out for the engine class. Not sure if I'd fly out for it by itself.

The tranny class was excellent. iirc, two days, and we took apart and reassembled 4 trannys. (well almost -- the g50 was sort of a fake reassembly)

I'll dig up my class summaries and post 'em.