Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: MSD/Pertronix Installation and
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
bob174
Ok, I have a '73 2.0 with the D-Jet intact. I have had a problem since I bought the car with a power loss after the car warms up (about 10 minutes after driving it in the morning). I have done numerous things to attempt to correct the problem--lots of diagnostics on the fuel injection & correction of problems. Last year the car started running very rough, like it was missing on one or two cylinders. Had to goose it to keep it from dying at idle. I replaced injectors and also installed the Pertronix and MSD ignition systems. While researching the Pertronix/MSD installation, I noted a couple things on the site. 1) there were varying wiring diagrams for this installation; and 2) there were questions as to how well the MSD tach adapter worked. I studied the various wiring diagrams (from the component vendors) and wired my system accordingly (with the MSD 8910 tach adapter), and the car started and ran like a champ on the first turn with the tach working great (I was a little concerned about the integration issues I might encounter when installing two systems-Pertronix and MSD-simultaneously). I have generated a wiring diagram that integrates the Pertronix, MSD and MSD tach adapter diagrams. I hope this helps someone not have to spend 2 hours staring at their component wires and the diagrams and various posts in order to get their system working. Man is it nice to see that timing mark sit there rock solid on the fan housing notch! As a side note, I used the tech article posted on Pelican's site for getting the part numbers for the MSD installation (6A MSD box, 8910 Tach Adapter, MSD's universal plug wires set, and MSD Blaster 2 Coil), and used the 1847V Pertronix Module.