Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: I am New to the 914 Family
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
jkslvr
I just bought a 1975 914, in about 90% restored condition... I am going to do some work on it. I want it to be almost a race car, but still drivable on the street... and still reliable... to an extent. I want to squeeze the most power out of my 2.0 4cyl... I know people will say convert it to a 6cyl... but I do not want to... I don't know why... What would you suggest I do to get max power out of my 914. I attached a pic of my 914 too
dinomium
Good looking car, and welcome. Does the car still have FI or is it Carbed? That will be the first debate.
Next is how deep is your wallet and need for speed? For a 5k you can get a true 125 hp motor from McMark and have a serious machine! Then comes upgraded carbs or aftermarket Fuel Injection
Or, you can keep the powerplant the same a start throwing money at the the suspension...

Browse around... the only limt is your bank account!
Bleyseng
Depends on your defination of power.

A 75 2.0l has 88hp at the most due to weak Heat Exchanger design. Replace with 73-74 SS heat exchangers, adjust the valves and a good tune up and get 7hp. hmmm, that feels better!

More hp, ok ya can dump the Heat Exchangers and get a CFR header and get 15hp. Wow, that rocks!

Now for more you have to do something to the inside of the motor: 2056cc motor
Cam change
96mm P&C's
HD Valve springs
Trick head rebuild
This is for about 115hp so now that really rocks!

More! Ok, a Raby 2270cc engine kit and get around 150-170hp.

Now we are talking!!! WooHoo!! But this is serious money in the 7-10k realm with all the work required.

So its back to how deep are your pockets?

A 2056cc properly built at 115-125hp really launches these cars and with another $5000 in suspension upgrades corners like a $100k Porsche.

drooley.gif