Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Need Help..What should I offer for this original 914-6
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
kenschipper
Time to turn to the knowledge of everyone here on the list for advice on how much to offer for an original 914-6. After these many years of looking at 6’s I now have one exclusively available and the decision is harder than I thought it would be. (Sorry for the length but after reading a lot of club posts I know it’s better to be thorough.)

Even if you can only respond to one item, please take a moment to do so. It would be greatly appreciated,

The vehicle is owned by the father of one of the graphic designers that works at my wife’s design business. I’ve been talking to him for about 2 years and he finally decided to sell. (I currently have a ’74 2.0 which will be up for sale if the deal goes through.)

He is the second owner and has had it for about 28-30 years. It has been stored in his garage for the last 8-9 years.

The car is in stock mechanical condition, with 87,000 miles with no major work (engine, transmission, brakes). The gas had a preservative added when it was parked (which seem to good for about 2 years). There is no gas left in the tank and no gum buildup on the bottom although I’m presuming that the fuel lines, pump and carbs will likely need cleaning, rebuilding or replacing.

The linkage shifts better than my 914-4 just sitting there but that’s not much of a real test. There does not appear to be any rust under the battery (it has been repainted in this area but poking with a screwdriver did not reveal any week spots.) I did not realize that the sixes did not have a drain hole in this area, is that correct? Battery tray is in perfect condition. What looks like rust in the photos is actually the original signal orange paint.