Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Starter for a V6 conversion
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
John G
Hey folks,

Well, my GMC V6 converted 914 is on its way to me (being shipped). The PO says the car is having some hot start problems, so I thought I would replace the starter with a hgh torque model.

My problem is: I'm new to wrenching. I thought this would be a good thing to cut my teeth on.

What part should I order? I want to make sure I get one that will fit. To give you a glimpse of my mechanical ignorance, I understand that the starter connects to the flywheel, but is the flywheel in the conversion going to be Porsche or Chevy? Pretty sure it must be Porsche, but I need to ask.

Is this an easy bolt-on for a newbie like me, or should I seek professional help?

Any advice in picking the part and getting it to fit?

Light weight would be a bonus, but solving the hot start and turning a V6 is the most important. Good price helps too. ;-)

Time to buy a floor jack and some jackstands. Heh. welcome.png

Ignorantly yours,

John
Mueller
QUOTE(John G @ Jun 30 2006, 08:40 AM) *

Hey folks,

Well, my GMC V6 converted 914 is on its way to me (being shipped). The PO says the car is having some hot start problems, so I thought I would replace the starter with a hgh torque model.

My problem is: I'm new to wrenching. I thought this would be a good thing to cut my teeth on.

What part should I order? I want to make sure I get one that will fit. To give you a glimpse of my mechanical ignorance, I understand that the starter connects to the flywheel, but is the flywheel in the conversion going to be Porsche or Chevy? Pretty sure it must be Porsche, but I need to ask.

Is this an easy bolt-on for a newbie like me, or should I seek professional help?

Any advice in picking the part and getting it to fit?

Light weight would be a bonus, but solving the hot start and turning a V6 is the most important. Good price helps too. ;-)