Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: headliner - present or not in '70 /6?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > Originality and History
smontanaro
My 1970 914/6 doesn't have the glued-in felt headliner I've seen on many other cars. Is it supposed to have one or not?

Thx,

Skip
sixerdon
NOT.

Don
Pat Garvey
I bring this "gem from the past" back up, because I think it needs more discussion.

Besides, I'm still learning
Pat
1970 Neun vierzehn
My '70/4, build date 01/1970, never had the roof liner. I don't believe the real early cars had it installed. That add was probably an assembly line item that was a "running" improvement as the parts and/or material came available. Though my car has the "appearance group", it arrived at the dealer w/o fog lights. The fog lights, correct grilles, and switch were installed by the dealer. I figure the missing fog lights were the result of parts not available yet as the 914 assembly line was being ramped up.

Paul
Porsche Rescue
I have owned several '70 sixes, three '70 fours and one '71 four. None had a headliner. Does the '72 have it Pat?
dr914@autoatlanta.com
QUOTE(smontanaro @ Jul 2 2006, 01:56 PM) *

My 1970 914/6 doesn't have the glued-in felt headliner I've seen on many other cars. Is it supposed to have one or not?

Thx,

Skip

early sixes did not later ones in 1970 and then up all had them. Running improvement. We usually think that around number 9140430680 is when they started to add the headliner the driving lights and the rear carpet securing tabs but of course nothing is for sure
sixerdon