Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Tranny Leak
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
schweggy
Newbie question:
I bought a 74 914 w/ 2.0 a few weeks ago. It's previous owner turned me on to this BBS and a few other sites for useful info. I regularly use the BMW UUC Digest for info for my other cars when stuck with something I can't figure out.

Since I'm new to the Porsche 914 scene I'm still figuring out "stuff." Here's my situation: It's leaking tranny fluid from the fitting where the speedo cable enters the rear housing. Gasket is fine, but the hole this fitting goes into seems "larger" then the diameter of the fitting with the speedo gear in it.

Saw a thread on this BBS about checking the fluid level and someone mentioned that if "the breather hole was plugged, it would leak tranny fluid just about everywhere"

Where is this breather hole? On top of the transmission, where? And can I get to it without major hassle?

If that doesn't pan out then is it possible to use some heat resistant material to caulk this thing so it won't leak?

TIA
Jay
JWest
They fit kinda loose quite often - you might want to try a new o-ring anyway (even if it looks OK).

The breather looks like a hex plug on the top of the case - if you pull it out make sure you tighten it back in the correct orientation (45 degrees off the car centerline and away from the differential).
Red-Beard
I agree with James. The o-ring compresses when installed. It is pretty much a use once thing.

get a new o-ring (they are cheap, like $2). To get the drive out, 1st drain the fluid. Always remove the filler plug first, so you can make sure you can get fluid back in there. You'll need a 17mm allen socket to do this.

remove the retaining bolt and then pull the drive out. replace the o-ring and put it back in.

TORQUE THE BOLT TO THREE (3) FOOT-LBS!!!!!!!!
schweggy
Thanks for the suggestions. Here's a funny prelude to this story;