Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Trouble with the trans - disassembly that is.
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
DORIGTT
I'm dismantling my trans and have been able to get the pinion shaft to move but not the input shaft.

What do I do? Bigger brass hammer? How hard should I hit it? The pinion shaft moved quite easily so I expected the same from the input shaft.

What gives (unlike my mainshaft)?
Bleyseng
big brass hammer! smash.gif

keep the nut on it to protect the threads and hit it. untorque it first of course.
Cap'n Krusty
REAL tranny technicians use a press, and remove both shafts at the same time.

The Cap'n
TROJANMAN
why brass? softer metal? dry.gif
Bleyseng
QUOTE(Cap'n Krusty @ Jul 11 2006, 08:41 AM) *

The Cap'n

I am just a shadetree mechanic with no skills, but whatever works is good.

Just don't wreck the threads!!!
Cap'n Krusty
QUOTE(Bleyseng @ Jul 11 2006, 08:48 AM) *

The Cap'n

Shadetree tools yield shadetree results. See the recent thread about mangling the threads on a mainshaft.

The Cap'n
Dr Evil
Heat the outside of the gear with MAP gas to loosen it, then whack it with a brass hammer. A lead hamemr will likely disintegrate.

Also, you can try soaking it with PB blaster for over night.

....if you dont have a press. I love my press biggrin.gif

Just dont booger up the end of the shaft or the nut and be preparred to potentially destroy the $130 bearing around the shaft.
Dr Evil
Oh and welcome.png
DORIGTT
You mean I'm in a forest?

Thanks for all the replys! I totally forgot about the heat and breakaway options. I'm going to purchase a press, but seeing how easy the pinion shaft was moving, I thought the mainshaft would move-out with the same ease.

Thanks. When I get home I'll 'bang' that out.

I'm taking this one apart and re-assebling it for fun. I've two others that I'm going to rebuild. One for me and the other for whoever is in need.