Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: V8 or six conversion.
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
914rat
Although I'm listed as a newbie I am not new to 914's.I have 5.I currently am working on a 1971 .My 5 lug conversion is half complete[front] and sway bar installed.I have decided to go with a V8 instead of a porsche 6 cyl.It appears less expensive to build a V8 car.Has anyone dealt with Reddawg racing on a V8 conversion.
Brad Roberts
I have not dealt with them personally, but I know I never will.

I dealt with 3-4 customers of theirs after the royal f-ing they received.

Stay away. Stick with a name that we know: Renegade or the guy's from AZ.

I support Renegade because of their continued support of the 914 as a conversion platform. I have no reason to doubt the people in AZ know what they are doing.

B
byndbad914
agree.gif steer clear of reddawg. Renegade seems to be the best option for a bolt-in setup that consistently works. A link in case you aren't familiar with them - they are in Vegas.

http://www.renegadehybrids.com/
drive-ability
I have done business with Renegade (Scott) and have only good things to say about there commitment to customer satisfaction. biggrin.gif
turbo914v8
QUOTE(drive-ability @ Jul 17 2006, 12:22 PM) *

I have done business with Renegade (Scott) and have only good things to say about there commitment to customer satisfaction. biggrin.gif

Me too what he said. agree.gif
914-8
Don't do Renegade unless you have a lot of time on your hands. You'll get Scott on the phone and he won't stop talking!

Seriously, 914s and V8s really seem to be the passion of the guys over at Renegade. Really into the cars and very willing to help people out.
Sammy
V8 instead of porsche flat 6 = big mistake, IMO.
I've owned and driven a V8 914, and I much prefer the flat six.
Others will disagree.

Carlitos Way