Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: New member
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Bigbohr
Hi everybody! I am new to this BB and to 914's. I have posted already a couple of times but I haven't introduced myself yet. Since I now got a couple of pics of my 914 it seemed like a good time to do so. I'll try to attach a shot to this message.

My profession is drilling oil and gas wells ... so you guys and galls can keep racing around in your cars. I don't drill wells myself, as a drilling engineer I plan wells and then we hire contractors to execute. I've had a pretty much unstable life since I left college 8 years ago, i.e., my travelling bag is my home. Looks now that I'm gonne be here in Houston for a while so it seemed time to get to my passion: cars! So I bought myself a 1973 914. I liked the midengine design, direct driver-car interaction and I love the look of it - sooo incredibly 70's. The PO told me it's a 2 liter but the engine code is of a 1.7 and it doesn't have 3 stud headers. All information I got from this website. It's just amazing how much information is on this website and how helpful all you (very knowledgeable) guys are. All right, that's enough compliments ... laugh.gif

My goal is to make a 6 or a V8 conversion. Errr ... yes I like acceleration. Untill now I've been riding sportsbikes but I think I'm getting a bit old for that crap. Before I had a headache from drinking beer but now it's from dehydration after wearing leathers for a couple of hours (Houston = HOOOOOOOT). And I got married so I have to behave more responsibly wub.gif

For the moment I'm gathering info to see what the options are, where to buy stuff and how much things cost, etc etc. My first choice was to put in a 6 since being eurotrash I love everything that has Porsche on it but we'll see ...