Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Shaving
914World.com > The 914 Forums > The Paddock
mudfoot76
I recently picked up a set of factory 2.0L Fuchs (not repros). 15 x 5.5 as far as I can tell, they don't look like they've been stretched or anything.

I'm new to all this racing/track stuff, but I do want to put track tires on these new rims and save my others just for the street. I've been searching and reading all the posts about tires, and it looks like Falken Azenis rt615 for me. Edgeracing has them for $74/tire, which seems like a pretty good deal. My street tires are 205-60/15, but on custom 15x6 rims. Is 205 too wide for the 5.5? Should I go for 195, and if so what sidewall height is good in your opinions?

A local person here was trying to convince me to go to DOT R compound, either Toyo Proxes RA1 or Yokohama Advan A032R, but that I'd also have to get those "shaved down to 4/32 tread depth" in order to make them last longer confused24.gif

Since I am fairly new to all this other stuff, I am feeling overwhelmed by all the choices. My car has been lowered a little, and when I'm on track with the street tires, I do occasionally hear a little rubbing if an instructor is in my passenger seat.

I don't want to be spending a fortune, but since these will be for track only I want to get better tires. So, in Your humble opinions, is it better to buy the Azenis or DOT R, and should I bother to have the treads shaved?

Thanks!
jhadler
Welcome to the paddock, now you're really in trouble... smile.gif

Okay, let's address a couple things.