Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Just another battery thread
914World.com > The 914 Forums > The Paddock
drew365
I've been using the small Odyssey 680 battery for the past two years and it has never let me down, but I may have found it's limits. I installed a G2X data logger and video recorder and bullet mic over the weekend, and the Odyssey kept losing power anytime I used it to run the logger without the car running. Even for just 30 seconds or so to test I had power. I'm afraid of relying on it this coming weekend at Laguna Seca. It's a real expensive weekend and I don't want to spend it in the pits. So, what's the next best, lightest alternative to the 680 that will give me a little more spare power for my new accessories? I love the Optima but don't want to add 25lbs.
Trekkor
Is it possible to run another small battery for just the gear?

KT
drew365
QUOTE(trekkor @ Aug 21 2006, 10:16 PM) *

Is it possible to run another small battery for just the gear?

KT

Adding a second battery is space and weight, if it's not being charged by the car I need to maintain charging it which could get to be a pain at the track. I'll probably look for a lead acid from a compact car that's not too big.
groot
Are you competing or just running for fun?

If you're just running for fun, throw in another battery or use the Optima.

If you're competing you can charge the battery between sessions or use a jump box when starting your car.... or get a second battery to swap out after you've used the first battery for a while.

I've run a whole weekend on a small motorcycle battery without an alternator.... actually I ran the Runoffs last year on a $30 motorcycle battery that I charged each night. Now I'm really underweight so I run an Optima and don't have to charge it at all during the weekend.... unless I have a practice day on Friday.
drew365