Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 916 build on 4-Cyl. chassis?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
SirAndy
ok, i'm no expert when it comes to 916s, but this is news to me (interesting part in bold):

A supercar version known as the Porsche 916 was planned for production in the early 1970s, but was cancelled after the production of eleven prototypes. These had either the 2.4 engine from the 911S, or the 2.7 from the Carrera: also a fixed steel roof, wider wheels and flared fenders from the GT, complete leather trimmed interior, and more integrated front and rear ends than the 914. Ventilated disc brakes were fitted to all four wheels, and also a "mid-engined" version of the then-new 915 transmission, giving a conventional shift pattern with 1 to 4 in an H and fifth out on a limb. One 916 was built to US spec, and on delivery to the USA was fitted with air conditioning by the dealer (Brumos). One fact that may make 914/6 purists wince is that at least one of the 916's proves, on close examination, to have been built using a 4-cylinder VW-engined 914 as a base. Porsche obviously had a "waste not, want not" attitude to their prototypes that was also evident with the 914/8's.

looking through the 916 VIN number list, they all had 914/6 style VINs, even the first "prototype" ...
confused24.gif Andy
effutuo101
Since you know way more about these cars than I do, I would have to say that the person you are quoting is mis guided. Thoughts?
Gustl
on the one hand - the quoted text isn't all correct:

..., complete leather trimmed interior, ...

that's nonsens - at least 4 cars have/had fabric seat inlays and door panels

... or the 2.7 from the Carrera ...

when the 916s were buit the 2.7 RS engine wasn't "ready" - the 916s used a 2.4 engine block with enlarged bore - and specifications later known as "RS- spec"

first Porsche planed to use a new 2.6 engine - but then they thought it could lead to problems with parts/repair and so on