Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: No Start Troubleshoot
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
kconway
My car was purring like a kitten. It didn't get much road time but I'd start her up every week and take her around the block...until last week.

Car started idling iradically and "missing" on cylinders and it went down hill from there...fast. Now I can't even get her to start.

I'm no mechanic and have pretty much forgotten all I learned in autoshop in HS 20 years ago. So, where do I start? I pulled a plug, grounded it to the fan housing and saw a spark but not consistently. I know there is a methodical why to troubleshoot this, but where do I start?

Any and all help is much appreciated.

Kev
Mueller
Will it turn over?

what is the voltage of the battery when off and when running? (at idle and at a higher rpm)
Rand
Running erratically before dying, weak/intermittent spark? Check out your distributor cap, rotor, points, plug wires. Check the wires between coil and dizzy. If it's been a long time since a tune up, probably should do that anyway. Might even fix it! wink.gif
kconway
QUOTE(Mueller @ Sep 19 2006, 05:18 PM) *

Will it turn over?

what is the voltage of the battery when off and when running? (at idle and at a higher rpm)

Umm, can't go there now...she's not running. I can say my battery is starting to drop off though from cranking.
kconway
QUOTE(Rand @ Sep 19 2006, 05:20 PM) *

Running erratically before dying, weak/intermittent spark? Check out your distributor cap, rotor, points, plug wires. Check the wires between coil and dizzy. If it's been a long time since a tune up, probably should do that anyway. Might even fix it! wink.gif

Okay, sounds like a good place to start. I did pull the cap and rotor. Rotor looks worn and dirty but I have nothing to compare it to. I did pick up a rotor from Napa and try that this afternoon but that didn't help. I plan on picking up a complete tuneup kit tomorrow.

Thanks
Rotary'14