Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Diagnose a bad master cylinder
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
terrymason
a couple of days ago my front brakes ran out of fluid - I did some inspecting, and I belive that my passenger caliper is bad. I've replaced the caliper, and went about bleeding it, but I can't get fluid in the lines.

I've taken the caliper off again, and am simply trying to get brake fluid out of the end of the brake line, just before the caliper.

I've tried both pumping the brakes and using a vacum bleeder, and can't get and fluid out of the line. The level of the resovior never drops.

So what is it? I'm assuming that there isn't a leak, could I have a bad master cylinder? Do I need to somehow prime this thing?

bd1308
Shoudlnt have to--I ran out of fluid three times when I was rebuilding the brakes, and I simply poured more fluid in and pumped the brakes to get fluid back in the lines, and then did a four point bleeding.

Maybe your MC is bad? confused24.gif

b
terrymason
That's what I'm thinking.

The way it stands now, I've removed the passenger front caliper and pretty much just have a hard line from the MC to the passenger wheel well. I should be shooting fluid all over the place everytime I pump the brakes.
URY914
Do you feel resistance against the pedal as you pump it?

Try bleeding the caliper on the driver side. See if you get B/F out of that one.
Brew
Or blockage in the line.(Hey, it could happen!) Does your D-side caliper work?
terrymason
no pedal at all - it'll hit the floor just using my hand to press the pedal. I'm guessing that if I had only rear brakes I should still be able to pump them up right?
terrymason
I'll take the driver side off tomorrow and test, but I'm thinking that I've got a bad master cylinder
Brew
Kinda sounds like it, but I cant see why you wouldnt be able to get fluid out with a vacuum pump?
Hammy
QUOTE(Brew @ Sep 19 2006, 07:42 PM) *