Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Targa top bracing
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
jamara
I've been considering various means of stiffening the chassis of the 914 from the firewall area forward. It seems most people prefer the clamshell method on the outer longs, some prefer the inner long/firewall bracing of our very own engman, or some of course prefer the ever-true rollbar.

What about welding in cross bracing right beneath the targa top from one corner of the windshield frame diagonally across to the other side on the targa rollbar, creating an X? I know a very few, very rare 914's had a solid, welded in top with no targa. Wouldn't welding in bracing be similar? I know it wouldn't look as pretty with the targa top off, but I am just curious if anyone has done it.

Besides, I am honestly not a huge fan of the targa anyway and I seldom take mine off. Actually, in 7 months of owning my car as a daily driver I have never driven with it off and I live in So Cal. (I know, why even own the car, right? (':D', 'smid_4')
biggrin.gif)

However, this is not a question about my strange anti-targa neurosis, whatever the nature of it might be (agoraphobia, perhaps?). Rather, it is a technical question about bracing, so...anyone have any ideas?

Last thought... The only reason I can imagine that this would not serve to profoundly improve body flex is that the windshield frame is not robust enough to provide support like this and would potentially start flexing itself. But then, why would Porsche install a few solid metal, immovable targa's on a few of their really high performance cars?

Thanks for your wisdom!

James

URY914
Will welding something/anything in help? Yes it will. BUT, the w/s is really not too strong and won't give you too much stiffness.

I think the 916 top was done to add some stiffening and to be a little different than a stock 914.
So.Cal.914
On your last question I believe that they put the solid tops on those cars because