Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Interior trim removal questions
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
HCRDAN
I'm a 914 newbie with a 73 2.0L and I have several issues:

1) the wires to the light between the seats has dropped somewhere down there so I need to retreive it to plug it back in. How does that panel come off (Vertical panel between the two seats). Does it require removal of the seats?

2) there is some clucking sound, like something being buffetted by the wind, and hitting the firewall back there somewhere. Occurs at about 60mph with windows down, top off. How does the panel between the seats and the door come off? Again, does it require removal of the seats?

3) While I'm in there, seat belt retractors are not retracting as they should. Any trick to repairing these?

4) Dashboard gauges. How do those come out? in my older 911s, those were simply held in by friction. Is it the same in the 914? I need to pull the speedo to repair the odometer.

5) Console gauges. Do you have to get those out from behind (and thus require removing the console to get to them)? I and need to pull the temp gauge to repair the light, and the clock to r/r it as well.

Thanks for any advice on these topics.

DG
73 914 2.0l
97 993 Targa

rhodyguy
1. push the seats fully forward. you should see 4 screws on the bottom of the back pad. remove them. pull the engine lid knob out a bit (not enough to open the lid), grasp the metal end of the cable with a pair of pliers (not on the threads) and turn the knob off. the black plastic item behind the knob is threaded on . turn it counter clockwise. it will not come out. just unscrew. the bottom of the back pad should now be loose. gently pull it out on the bottom and then down. a couple of clips on the back side will slip out of their respective holders.

2. is the clucking sound the loose/hanging seatbelt straps banging around?