Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: New Question about my starting problem
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Mamacita
I posted about the carb problem here:
http://www.914world.com/bbs2/index.php?showtopic=61777
That's been resolved but then we found out that the gear on the starter is sheared off (forgive me if I'm wording anything wrong...I'm an extreme novice).

We're getting a new starter shipped to us since it's under warranty still. We put the other starter in, so I don't think it'll be an issue for us to install the new one. If the shipping last time was any indication, we'll be receiving it around Tuesday.

Here's my real question:
We don't see the parts (teeth?) of the gear laying on the garage floor. Does that mean that the pieces are in the flywheel, tranny or some other important component of my car?

If so, what do we need to do to take care of the problem?

Help??
Stacie headbang.gif
Mamacita
QUOTE(Mamacita @ Oct 8 2006, 08:35 PM) *

Here's my real question:
We don't see the parts (teeth?) of the gear laying on the garage floor. Does that mean that the pieces are in the flywheel, tranny or some other important component of my car?

If so, what do we need to do to take care of the problem?

Help??
Stacie headbang.gif

Any thoughts on this guys? I'm afraid it's going to get buried.

John is afraid that we'll get the new starter on but that there will be other problems caused by the missing gear.
Stacie
PORobinSCHE
the teeth should still be inside the bell housing. you may have to back off the motor from the tranny and use a magnet to fish out the pieces. or if the gods are smiling on you try using the magnet thru the starter hole.
either way the broken teeth had to fall somewhere...
So.Cal.914
Did you check the flywheel thru the starter hole to see if the gear was damaged

also? If it were me I would back the trans off and check the flywheel and remove