Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: motor cross bar mounts
914World.com > The 914 Forums > The Paddock
mtrotter
What are the best Motor cross bar mounts to use?

Im building a TT/VARA Track car. Im fairly new to 914s but not new to cars. All i can find are 911 mounts (still rubber.). I have solid motor mounts and solid tranny mounts, solid cross bar mounts? where are they?

Thanks,

Morgan Trotter
brant
the early tail shift cars used rubber in the the cross bar mounts.
the later side shift cars bolt the bar straight to metal with no mount inbetween.

if you upgraded your car to the side shifter you would leave all of the motor bar mounts out and it would be a metal to metal contact.

brant
Brad Roberts
Hey Morgan!

I have some solid engine mounts for the 73-76 engine mounts. You can buy new the plates that bolt across the circular opening for the cross bar mount. They are fairly cheap.

The engine mounts I have are delrin replacements for the original rubber ones for the crossbar to engine mount.

B
mtrotter
QUOTE(Brad Roberts @ Oct 13 2006, 12:46 PM) *

Hey Morgan!

I have some solid engine mounts for the 73-76 engine mounts. You can buy new the plates that bolt across the circular opening for the cross bar mount. They are fairly cheap.

The engine mounts I have are delrin replacements for the original rubber ones for the crossbar to engine mount.

B

Thanks,

I got confused for a second there. I have the 71 parts car, and the 73 is what Im building.... noticed one has rubber mounts and the 73 didnt. It looks kinda funny with out any rubber in there, but it seems to be strong. I got the shock towers all welded up and im going to do the suspension this week. Front / Rear sway, bilsteins, 220 rear springs, 24mm torsions. Hopefully it dosent rain much. Doing work in my driveway, 924s is up on jackstands for a week or so waiting on parts.