Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: pass visor vanity mirror delete
914World.com > The 914 Forums > Originality and History
rhodyguy
was there a year that the mirror was deleted or added? this one is on a 74'.

k
sixerdon
My understanding is they were added sometime in '71. My sixes don't have them. Maybe a PO changed swapped it on your car? Otherwise your car should have the mirror.

Don
Pat Garvey
Agree w/Don - your '74 should have it. But, have to say that it looks better w/o it!

I keep wondering when the one on my '72 is going to flip down for the last time & flip off!

Besides, Porsche women don't even attempt to adjust makeup in a 914 - they'd all look like Lucille Ball!
Pat
rhodyguy
this is my first time seeing one without the mirror. how would an issue like this play in a concours pat? ok either way? -1 for a very early car with the mirror?

k
Pat Garvey
QUOTE(rhodyguy @ Oct 14 2006, 11:22 PM) *

this is my first time seeing one without the mirror. how would an issue like this play in a concours pat? ok either way? -1 for a very early car with the mirror?

k

Ok, here's the key ingredient! A judge has a VERY limited time to go over these cars. Depending on the event, it could be as little as 3minutes, or usually as much as ten. Regardless, it isn't enough time to find the obscure issues. I've judged at least 40 of these things, from club, to multi-marque, to Parade - and ther'e NEVER enough time!

All judges are different - some are looking for dirt (anywhere), some are looking for non-origonality (hang the dirt!), some are multi-functional (that would be me).

None of us judge the same! Though we care about the rules, we are all individuals, with an individual purpose. In the back of our minds, we have a personal agenda, whatever it may be. Don't let anyone fool you if they say "we look at all the same" Crap.