Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Oil Cooler Thermostats
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
race914
Looking at two oil cooler thermostats and would like the "non club's" experiences, good or bad with Mocal v.s. Troutman.

Don't want to bias your input with what I currently have, or what I've heard, but would like some objective input from you guys who have used them....

Mocal
Click to view attachment

Troutman
Click to view attachment

Wondering about quality, reliability, options and/or ease of mounting, failures, etc.

Don't want to make a change without the benefit of everyone's experience!

Thanks in advance for your opinions...
StratPlayer
I've been running a mocal for almost 4 yrs now without one problem at all.
brant
Greg,

sorry.. not trying to hijack your thread.
but we run NO thermostat on the race car.
for weight and less obstruction.

brant
Joe Bob
A thermostat is a good idea in ALL cases in my opinion. A big slug of cold oil can cause a leak in fittings, lines or an external cooler.......that being said.....I use MOCALs......I used a Troutman once. It was fine, I got it used on the car that I bought and it went on "Manfred" my 914/6 vintage racer that I never raced but sold.....

As to sources.....BAT Inc is the best around but out on the east coast.

If you need a -10AN Dave at GPR has one I returned as I ordered a -12AN and they shipped the wrong one. 800-321-5432 ext 502.
Trekkor
I like my Mocal.

-12's.

KT
Gary
I need to do this too. It's getting cool in the PNW.

I read a thread on PP a while back that suggested factory or Troutman, which uses the factory internals, b/c the factory still allows some flow even when cold, decreasing the stress on the cooler when first opening.

I like the looks of the Mocal for ease of splicing into my existing lines.
GeorgeRud