Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: I think I installed something wrong
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Hammy
Ok, so. Total newb. at this...

Car on jackstands, engine and tranny installed. CV joints hooked up, car in second gear, spin rear wheel by hand and engine does not turn/move. Rear wheels spin with starter and car in gear, but not when engine is running, idling.

Somethings wrong, right? What'd I do?
drive-ability
QUOTE(Hammy @ Oct 20 2006, 07:33 PM) *

Ok, so. Total newb. at this...

Car on jackstands, engine and tranny installed. CV joints hooked up, car in second gear, spin rear wheel by hand and engine does not turn/move. Rear wheels spin with starter and car in gear, but not when engine is running, idling.

Somethings wrong, right? What'd I do?

Is the transmission in gear when at idle?
Allan
Make sure that one of the wheels is stationary.

Only lift 1 (one) wheel...
SirAndy
QUOTE(Headrage @ Oct 20 2006, 07:40 PM) *

huh?
confused24.gif Andy
Allan
QUOTE(SirAndy @ Oct 20 2006, 07:42 PM) *

QUOTE(Headrage @ Oct 20 2006, 07:40 PM) *

huh?
confused24.gif Andy

Whattya mean? Ya gotta lift one wheel...

Make sure that only one of them is off the ground...
SirAndy
QUOTE(Headrage @ Oct 20 2006, 07:47 PM) *

Whattya mean? Ya gotta lift one wheel...

Make sure that only one of them is off the ground...

Rear wheels spin with starter and car in gear, but not when engine is running, idling.

i don't think it would be a good idea to try that with one wheel on the ground ...
unless you need a second exit in your garage ...
biggrin.gif Andy
Bruce Allert
Might you have adjusted the clutch cable too tight & It's not allowing the clutch to engage fully? It might be barely touching and that's why the wheels spin with the starter only.

I adjusted my first clutch too tight & it slipped big time... like, nothing moved dry.gif

....b
Hammy