Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Interesting Intake Valve
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
DNHunt
I have been chasing poor oil cosumption for a couple of years. All my tests I thought pointed to rings. I was wrong. Here is a picture of the intake valve in cylinder #4. I have a nightlight up the intake port. Compresssion was 125 and leakdown was 65%. The rest of the intakes are similar. This was a 2.0 l head with no cracks when rebuilt.
DNHunt
Here's the solution
Jake Raby
QUOTE(DNHunt @ Oct 28 2006, 07:39 AM) *

I have been chasing poor oil cosumption for a couple of years. All my tests I thought pointed to rings. I was wrong. Here is a picture of the intake valve in cylinder #4. I have a nightlight up the intake port. Compresssion was 125 and leakdown was 65%.

It doesn't look like an intake valve issue, it looks like the head has allowed the seat to droop- a common occurance with a 30+year old head casting.. When the head starts to droop the seat follows it and you get poor sealing..

It's easy to check the valve, pop it out and chuck it up in a drill and see if it turns true, if it does its the head...

Some heads are wose about this than others, generally we see this on the exhaust side of things when the EGT exceeds 1350F. Kevin Groot had the same issue at last years runoffs when Len and I did a valve job for him in the paddock- it didn't last long, about 2 laps at mid ohio..
Another reason why we don't use old castings any longer-
Bleyseng
You've seen the light!

No more rebuilt heads for you I imagine... How did the seating get so poor on those intakes???

oh, Jake answered whilst I was typing. clap56.gif
Jake Raby
Dave, remember a year ago when I told you to look at the heads for some symptoms to the "issues"??

I told ya so!

But I got a sweet set of Nickies for my drag race engine out of the deal :-)
DNHunt