Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Windshield removal
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
bottomend
Ok, I'm trying to get a winshield out. I've never done this before. How do I do it?

I've already taken a razor blade and cut into the rubber as much as I could but now the window seems to be "sticking" to the rubber underneath it ( around the perimeter). I only get one chance on this guys and dolls so.. lets make this a clean one, k?
So.Cal.914
The factory used butel rubber to seal windscreen. I use a medium gauge

guitar string with a piece of dowel at eather end. Hook that to the underside

between the glass and the rubber and use it like a knife. You can draw it back

and forth to help cut thru the rubber but watch you don't scratch the glass that

shows when it is installed.
gregrobbins
Harbor Frieght sells a windshield removal tool. I picked it up for $10 or so, and had my windshield out in less than 10 minutes no problem. The tool has a T-handle attached to a cable with a cutting blade attached to the other end. Just insert the blade between the glass and butel and slowly pull the blade. Do the top and both sides and the windshield should rock forward and release.

If all else fails, and I broke one windshield before finding the tool trying the wire method, Saftylite sells 914 windshields installed in Phoenix for $235. I would guess you could find them elsewhere about the same.
Eric_Shea
Glenn, Slits... you guys paying attention? biggrin.gif
bottomend
I'm lovin the guitar string method! I'm a bassist so I guess my strings are too fat, huh?!

Once I have the window seperated from the car, can I just lift it out? Will it crack? Do I need another set of hands to support it?
So.Cal.914
If you don't have a glass cup I would sudjest that you have someone help

you, you can do it yourself but help is nice. When it is out put a couple of wood

blocks on the ground next to a wall or whatever and set the glass on the blocks