Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 96mm pistons or 104mm pistons
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
w13013
Hey everybody, I'm a newbie and appreciate any info... I am rebuilding what I believe to be a 2.0 type IV.
( just purchased a 1972 914 2.0 type IV, as a project car)(obviously not an original motor)
One of the piston cylinders is shot so I am looking on ebay at buying a new set of pistons and cylindes. The pistons and cylinders I have right now are 96mm. (which I found a replacement set) But my delima is that I also found a set of 104mm. my question is ... they are both a 71mm stroke can I maybe slam in the 104mm set and be ok. Will I need to change anything with the cam or valves? And most importantly is it really going to be worth the hassle vs getting more performance.
The motor has a set of two dual webber carbs and n ice oil cooler etc. I would really like to get some screaming performance out of this motor , so any suggestions would be cool. I am also looking to put a six cylinder in it later as well. But I figure I will run on this little guy until then and see how it does.

thanks!!!!
ptravnic
The case would need modified to accept the larger bore cylinders. I'll let the experts on the board take over from there...

jwalters
Hey, be truly progressive in size! Use a set of 6 1/2 inch bore piston cylinder assemblies from a Continental TSIO 520 aircraft engine!!

Talk about torque!!

jsharp.gif
cnavarro