Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: OT: Any skiers out there?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
type11969
Not sure if this is okay in the garage or not, but I figure it will get more views here. If it isn't acceptable, let me know and I'll move it.

Anyway, seems as though many non-914 related questions are asked here tapping the vast and varied knowledge base that is the 914club, so I've got one of my own now . . .

Looking to buy some new skis in the near future, looking for suggestions for what to buy. Currently I have some crappy rental skis I got for cheap off ebay, but its time to upgrade (got to now before I am a poor student again). I'm an intermediate skier, ski a few times a year in the crappy, icy northeast, and try to go skiing at least once a year for a few days in CO. So I'm not really looking for top of the line, but I want something that is decent that will last. Can anyone offer suggestions or at least point me in a direction?

Already have decent boots.

Thanks,

Chris
biosurfer1
a couple year old set of shaped ski's. shaped ski's are one of the greatest inventions in skiing since ski's if you ask me...

check ebay and i also would look into a swap meet at a local school, thats where i get most of my stuff, usually good prices on last years models, brand new.
anthony
I agree that the newer shaped skis are awesome. I wish I had bought mine even shorter.

I would actually recommend that get your own boots first and then rent demo skis. That way, you will get to know exactly what you like.
TINCAN914
I just bought a pair of two year old Dynastar's. Parabolic's. Bought them brand new from the sporting good store having there yearly Bargins sale. $100.00, best deal I have ever got.
Parabolic's are the only thing on the market anymore. It has been over 10 years since I went skiing last. Snow sucks in Southern California. Can't wait to go here soon.