Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Bolt in race trailing arms
914World.com > The 914 Forums > The Paddock
BMXerror
Hey all. I've been with the club for a bit, but I'm new to the Paddock. I would like to do some racing, hopefully by next year sometime (money is the limiting factor of course). Anyway's, my brother who does various forms of fabrication and I are designing a set of trailing arms with adjustability for toe-in and camber built in. After shortly browsing the Paddock, I found that people are doing this for their own cars already, but nobody seems to sell them.
To the point, my brother and I were thinking of prototyping with my car, and then producing them for sale once we get the product all sorted out. Before we invest in that, however, I want to know if this is something that people would be interested in. We have to know that there's a market, if only a small one, for these before we start producing them.
Our idea was to have something that can just be bolted up in the stock mounting points for simplicity. They'd be made from watercut and boxed flatbar, and they'd probably be drilled and dimple-died for lightweight and strength. As previously stated, they'd have full camber and toe adjustment built in, but would probably be set to factory spec by us for simplicity's sake. We'd have them powdercoated as well.
That's the basic idea, but we also have a couple question on what people would want. For example, what brakes do most racers like to use. Should we bracket it for SC calipers, turbo calipers, 964 calipers, or should we just leave it stock and leave any conversion to the customer. Also, what stub axles do most racers use? This is actually a subject that I don't know much about. I don't know what model year 911s are the same or if ANY are compatable with the 914. This of course affect which CVs you can run and what bearing carriers we'll have to use, so I would like to get the racer's input on this.