Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Help: Value of a 914-6 core motor?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
RSWannabe
I could use a little help here. I'm relatively new to the 914 world, but am a long time Porsche 911 guy. I have a 1970 914-6 which is missing its original motor. I'm looking to find a factory 914-6 motor to put in my car and have come across a 1970 914-6 long block in parts a guy is willing to sell me. I know how I would value this if it were just a 1969 911T parts motor (911 equivalent of a 914-6 motor), but not sure what the extra rarity does to the valuation. It is missing intake and exhaust and a few of the original cylinders were damaged, so it also comes with a set of 2.2 pistons, cylinders, and heads (unknown if T, E, or S at this time). So what we are talking about here is a factory 914-6 case with a serial number in the vicinity of my car (judging only by sequentiality as I do not have a COA on my car yet) with some associated parts of unknown condition. If this were a '69 911 T case and the same parts I'd say its worth about $500. What does the 914-6 factor do to the equation. Your thoughts and input would be appreciated.

Brooke
sixnotfour
I think your estimation is correct, I have seen people want alot more for them , Dont know if they ever got it.
When you get the COA post it , there is a couple of those cases laying around.
your car came from Florida
Good Luck.
McMark
It's a very limited market (914-6 owners who care about original motors) so that means demand is low. But finding 914-6 motors can challenging. So supply is low. So I would think you are on the spot about price. $500 sounds fair.
SirAndy
QUOTE(RSWannabe @ Dec 5 2006, 08:45 PM) *

If this were a '69 911 T case and the same parts I'd say its worth about $500. What does the 914-6 factor do to the equation. Your thoughts and input would be appreciated.

about the same ... i know guys who have given theirs away ...
smile.gif Andy
RSWannabe