Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Tail Lights
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
meador36
Well I'm new to the 914 and I have done a couple of searchs but I still have a problem so I guess its time to ask for help. My tail lights dont seem to be working I have moved all of the wires around but cannot get them to all work at the same time. (brake, tail light, no blinker or blinker, brake, no tail light, etc.) I have checked everything using the wiring diagram but still no luck. I dont know if it will help but I did disconnect the cig lighter. All of the fuses are good as well 1970 9144

Thanks
So.Cal.914
Easy stuff first, did you check the bulbs? Next I would clean the grounds.
meador36
The bulbs and the grounds have all checked out. The cig lighter is listed as being on the same fuse as the lights and it is out but the wipers work.
Spoke
Welcome to the club.

As Paul mentioned, check and clean all grounds, bulb contacts in the socket as well as the contacts on the bulbs. Also check spade connectors on the fuse panel. 30+ years of sitting tends to oxidize electrical connections and even connections that "look" good may not be making good electrical connections.

Question: What front lights work? Headlights? Front running lights? Side markers? Turn signals?

One good thing about the 914s is that their electrical system is very simple; especially compared to today's cars with their computers, processors and sensors. 2 tools that are helpful in debugging 914 electrical systems are a voltmeter and schematic. If you don't have 'em, get 'em.

If you have a good schematic, it will also include wire colors. This is very helpful in tracing wires.