Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Powder Coating question....
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
biosurfer1
i'm just getting into powder coating and it seems like a very cool thing, one question though, why couldnt an entire car be powder coated? besides the fact that you would need a very large oven, can it be done? any ever tried? am i missing something? since powder can cure in as little as 45 minutes, seems like it would be great to develop a way to coat the whole car, whats up?
ArtechnikA
QUOTE(biosurfer1 @ Nov 16 2003, 03:11 PM)
...why couldnt an entire car be powder coated?

it can, it's been discussed here before. bring money. touchups are problematic. metal only, matching fiberglass and/or polymer parts can be difficult. but there are places with ovens big enough to do a complete tub.
seanery
there are pics somewhere on our board of a yellow powder coated tub.

I've talked to my guy and he can do it. We didn't discuss price, though.
Qarl
http://www.autometricsmotorsports.com/products/911/

Chassis coating $2K to $3k
biosurfer1
everything i have read about it says that learning how to be good at powder coating is much easier than painting...i see what you mean about the touch-up and money, although considering you'd have it done days before painting, you could spend the extra time prep'ing and make sure it's done right the first time...i want to look more into this, can anyone suggest any links?
biosurfer1
damn kellzey, that engine compartment is awesome looking, when they "more durable" than paint, exactly how much more do they mean?
Qarl
If you want to powdercoat yourself (an entire chassis), you need an oven big enough for the entire car... so you are best leaving it to a professional.

As far as smaller stuff, check out the Eastwood company. They have lots of automotive refinishing products for the do-it-yourselfer.

Also speak with Lawrence on this group. He did his own powdercoating.