Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Give me a hand!
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
nyum96
I think I graduated from a JR. Mechanic to a middleweight. After 3 long weeks, my simple transmission rebuild turned into a complete rearend rebuild, minus the engine. So, first gear would grind, so would reverse. This is what resulted:

New rear wheel bearings (not fun)
New Flywheel (had to buy air compressor, good justification)
New clutch, etc (rivits where wearing into flywheel and suppot fork broken in half)new 6-spring
New syncro, (teeth were fine)
New Clutch cable (w/rubber scrunchie thing on tranny)
New speedometer cable (next to install)
New Hardware all around (expensive!)
Clean, sanded, undercoated entire car, including wheel wells
Added oil cooler (oil lines match car, guards red)
Sanded, cleaned and painted entire exhaust system with flat black paint
New alternator power wire (original finally cracked in half)
Added self made grounding kit
Heat shrunk ALL connections in rear half of car with heat resistant heat shrink (the kind that seals when heated)

cleaned and repacked cv's. (a box of rags later)
New CV hardware
Adjusted all brake calipers (with -in specs)
Installed new brake warning switch
Installed bump steer kit
Replaced foglight bulb
Everything retorqed to specs
New bushings from front to rear (shifting)
Painted tanny. after I cleaned and sanded (alum. color)

Supplies bought:

Air compressor clap56.gif
Serious impact gun (600 torq pounds) clap56.gif
2 boxes of rags
box of rubber gloves
12 point kit (cv joints)
Torq wrench clap56.gif
bandaids
Box of TIDE
10 white, now black shirts

So I know I've felt a lot out. Did I graduate to the next level of mechanic? confused24.gif