Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Owners manual pouch
914World.com > The 914 Forums > Originality and History
Pat Garvey
I wanted to check something in my owners manual yesterday. It's been in my glovebox for almost 35 years now. I noticed that it's starting get a little brittle and I'm afraid of it developing a tear on the center fold area.

Has anyone had any success with any products that can even partially renew flexibility to this type of vinyl? I don't want to screw it up with some sort of junk goo.

Yeah, I know, they're on EBay frequently. I want to preserve the one that came with MY 914.
type4org
QUOTE(Pat Garvey @ Jan 14 2007, 11:07 AM) *

Yeah, I know, they're on EBay frequently. I want to preserve the one that came with MY 914.

I'm not an expert in vinyl reconditioning, but in your situation I would put the original in a safe place and get a replacement manual for your glovebox that can be used and abused without worries.

914runnow
QUOTE(Pat Garvey @ Jan 14 2007, 09:07 AM) *

I wanted to check something in my owners manual yesterday. It's been in my glovebox for almost 35 years now. I noticed that it's starting get a little brittle and I'm afraid of it developing a tear on the center fold area.

Has anyone had any success with any products that can even partially renew flexibility to this type of vinyl? I don't want to screw it up with some sort of junk goo.

Hey Pat...the ones on eVil Bay...Are NEW OEM type..
They DO NOT have that greyish inside color to them..
And are just the one color and thickness..
But Golly Gee the picture shows otherwise on eVil Bay??...
Hmmmmmmmm blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif
So been there done that as per the info above,
in the other reply.....
Keep your Classic one tucked away for those 'Concour Days'..
OH>AND I have tried various treatments on mine to no avail... sad.gif
Pat Garvey
QUOTE(914runnow @ Jan 16 2007, 12:03 AM) *

QUOTE(Pat Garvey @ Jan 14 2007, 09:07 AM) *