Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: engine questions
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
ws91420
A few questions about building a performance type 4

2.0 heads can you do a port and polish on them? will it help anything?

I know a 2056 is 96mm bore with 71mm stock 2.0 stroke
is a 2270 a stoker motor or just a bigger bore
what bore and stroke is a 2270

if I go 2270 is 40mm webers enough
or is a 2056 good enough for me w/ the webers

what advantage is a counterweighted crank in these motors
Twystd1
Howabout.....
Before we try to answer all these questions.

What do you want from this engine?

I.E. performance data.

As the answers to some of your questions have multiple answers.

So what are your performance needs...???????

Clayton
ws91420
Street performance. haven't gotten into AX or things like that. I want something that will get out of it's own way and have no fear to drive it on 95 where people think that is the speed limit.
Borderline
I'm no expert but I have been learning a lot here.

The 2270 is a 96mm bore with a 78.4mm stroker crank. This size will probably need 44mm webers.

You've got to decide how fast you want to go and how much you want to spend...not always compatible.

According to Raby, you don't need a counterbalanced crank on the T4. The case is strong enough to handle the loads.

Good luck!
McMark
Don't port and polish most motors. Budget is probably going to be the biggest factor. IMHO, but the most expensive Jake kit that you can afford. wink.gif The kits make it sooooo easy.
Twystd1
I have to agree with McMark.

A Jake kit will give you the most performance and longevity you can buy.

His kits look expensive. In the end result. They are very fairly priced...
I know... hard to believe.

Slow down... Spend a month or so doing homework here and at www.shoptalkforums.com (Type4rum)

And learn about these great engines.

By the way... 180 HP very streetable engine is no problem.

It just ain't cheap...